My thoughts on “What Happens When A Man Meets His Wife and Child’s Killer”

While scrolling through facebook I came across this link to a video.  I’m going to mention a couple of specific things from it, so if you’d like to go watch first before you continue reading, go ahead. I’ll wait.

http://themetapicture.com/what-happens-when-a-man/

Back now?  Good!  Lol  So my first thought (naturally, i think) was “oh my gosh I can’t even imagine!”.  I honestly didn’t really want to watch it because I’m a very emotional person and I didn’t want to make myself think of the pain of losing a loved one and child…but curiosity got the best of me and I clicked on it. 

The thing that got my attention right away was the religious theme.  Now, I’m not a religious person at all, but I’m open minded so I kept watching.  One thing’s for sure though – the video brought up lots of thoughts and questions in my mind – about faith, friendship, and life in general.
 
Before everyone jumps on me about not being religious I’d like to state my case.  I’ve tried.  I went to a Christian school when i was younger, went to chapel every day, read every word of the bible they gave us, prayed nightly, and sang in the choir.  I *want* to believe.  I can’t even remember why I don’t any more.  But the fact is, at this point in my life, I am not religious.

That being said, I do agree with many beliefs of many different faiths (Do unto others, thou shalt not kill etc).  Not because of religion, simply because lots of them are a moral, decent way to live.  I don’t think you need religion to be a good person.  Being a good person should just come with being.  You shouldn’t be “good” just so you can go to heaven, or just because you’re scared your god will punish you. 

One of the things that gets me about religion is that everyone says they want peace and we should all get along, but at the same time a good portion of of the suffering and violence in human history has been due to, or “in the name of” religion.  How does that work?  I have lots of other questions but I’ll leave it at that.  I’m open for discussions though if you’d like to email me at ananaimonousgurl@gmail.com

I don’t know… back to the video lol At one point the man who lost his family said that he could very easily have given up and hidden away in his sorrow.  I think that would be me.  The thought of losing my children had crossed my mind a couple times since having them, and my heart literally hurts when it does.  It’s not something I’d wish on any parent.  I want to say I’d be strong and carry on, because my other child would need me, but I really don’t know if I could.  My instincts say that I’d want to hunt down whoever caused it and make them suffer.  So when I heard that these two men became friends I was surprised, to say the least.

It’s amazing that such a tragedy can bring two people together.  The fact that he was able to forgive, and actually wished to comfort the driver that killed his family, even though he was hurting.  And the fact that they both happened to be at the same place at the same time, just one day before the 2 year anniversary… crazy.  It’s these kinds of things that make me want to believe in a higher power.  I want to believe that everything, good or horrible, happens for a reason, and that things will work out. 
I guess it boils down to: I feel as though God and I have an understanding – he hates me and I pretend I don’t care lol As I said earlier, I have many more thoughts and questions about religion but I think I’ve rambled on enough for one day

If you’d like to continue this conversation, or anonymously ask/share something totally unrelated, you can email me at ananaimonousgurl@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

